YCARS is proud to welcome, special guest Tim Duffy, K3LR for the May 27th Program Meeting. K3LR will be conducting a presentation on contesting just in time for ARRL Field Day 2021. This will be a Virtual Presentation held on Zoom.

For those who are unfamiliar with Tim, K3LR and his story. Tim is a graduate of Penn State University and was licensed in 1972. He is currently the CEO of DX Engineering in Tallmadge, Ohio and the owner of the K3LR Contest Super Station (https://www.k3lr.com) in West Middlesex, PA. An active contester for 49 years, he has hosted over 145 different operators as part of the K3LR multi-op DX contest efforts since 1992. The K3LR team has completed over 800,000 QSO’s. A world class contester, Tim was a member of the team representing the USA on five different occasions for World RadioSport Team Championships (WRTC). He was elected to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame in 2006.

With his expertise in RadioSport contesting Tim served as a member on the ARRL Contest Advisory Committee, and was the Chairperson for multiple tears. Tim has been an active member of the CQ Contest Committee for the past 31 years. He is also a founding member and current Vice President of the North Coast Contesters. Always working to promote RadioSport contesting Tim founded and is the Chairperson of Contest University https://www.contestuniversity.com/. Tim is a moderator for the Hamvention Contest Forum, coordinator of the Contest Super Suite and the Dayton Contest Dinner Chairperson.

Tim also is a tireless promoter of Amateur Radio and serves the Amateur Radio community in various was. Tim was the ARRL Section Manager for Western Pennsylvania in 2015 and 2016 and currently serves on the ARRL Foundation Board. He also served as President of the Mercer Count Amateur Radio Club (W3LIF), President of the Radio Club of America (RCA) and on the board of directors as Chairperson of the World Wide Radio Operators Foundation (WWROF).

Tim has also earned many accolades, honors and awards in Amateur Radio including the 1998 Atlantic Division Technical Achievement Award, 2010 Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Service Award, 2015 Hamvention Amateur of the Year and the 2016 YASME Excellence Award.



Comments are closed